Logo

PROSA (High-resolution measurements of morphodynamics in rapidly changing PROglacial Systems of the Alps

  • Hillshade of a digital elevation model of the proglacial area of the Gepatschferner glacier. Click to see an animation showing the retreat of the glacier between 2006 and 2014.

    PROSA is a geoscientific joint project funded by the DFG (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft) and the FWF (Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung).


    The project’s goal is to conduct research in the effects of the ongoing glacier melt in the Alps on the development of landforms through erosion, transport and deposition of rock material. Debris flows, rock fall and floods are only some possible consequences that can develop or be reinforced from current climate warming in such high alpine systems. The project researches the system connections and system changes in the high altitude regions of the Alps as a consequence of very well visible changes in the glacial system from the perspectives of different disciplines. The results being won also serve an enhancement of human’s protection from natural hazards.
    In addition to geographers, also engineering geologists, glaciologist, geodesists and geophysicists participate in the project. Besides the leading University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, the universities of Halle, Erlangen and Munich (TU) in Germany and of Innsbruck and Vienna (TU) in Austria are involved in different sub-projects.

    The work on the project with a pursued time span of four years was begun in winter 2011/12. In 2013, we successfully applied for a follow-up period which will continue until the end of 2015.

    You will find summaries of the sub-projects and topical information on these pages.

  • Recent news

    • New video shows the first acquisition mission using our new mobile laserscanner (the device can be spotted at the snout of the helicopter). During the flight, the laserscanner was tested, and high-resolution aerial photos were acquired for SfM analysis. Video: M. Becht.
    • New videos showing increased rockfall activity at the "Schwarze Wand" (black wall) site (video1; video2) and time-lapse videos showing the movement of the Gepatschferner glacier at the icefall and near the snout. Time-lapse videos: WG Innsbruck.
    • January 2014: PROSA has been granted a follow-up period by the funding agencies DFG and FWF; so we will continue to work at least until the end of 2015. The next ALS survey campaigns are being planned, and we're continuing to evaluate the data and set up models. In late winter/spring avalanches will be mapped and sampled, and snow cover base temperature measurements for our permafrost map/model will be conducted
    • June 7th 2013: Heavy rainfall during the past few days and weeks has triggered increased activity of various geomorphic processes. Our colleagues from the University of Halle witnessed debris flows on the still partially snow covered lateral moraines of the Gepatschferner glacier:  => Video

Logo

PROSA (Hochauflösende Messungen der Morphodynamik in sich schnell verändernden PROglazialen Systemen der Alpen

  • Geschummerte Darstellung des Gepatschferners aus Digitalen Höhenmodelldaten aus dem Jahr 2006. Klicken Sie, um eine Animation zu sehen, die das Abschmelzen des Gletschers zwischen 2006 und 2014 zeigt.

    Bei PROSA handelt es sich um ein geowissenschaftliches Gemeinschaftsprojekt, das von der DFG (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft) und dem FWF (Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung) gefördert wird.

    Das Ziel des Projektes besteht in der Erforschung der Auswirkungen der aktuell rasch voranschreitenden Gletscherschmelze in den Alpen auf die Entwicklung der Formen der Erdoberfläche durch Abtragung, Transport und Ablagerung von Gesteinsmaterial. Muren, Felsstürze und Hochwasserereignisse sind nur einige der möglichen Folgen, die sich in  diesen hochalpinen Systemen infolge der aktuellen Klimaerwärmung entwickeln oder verstärken können. Mit dem Forschungsprojekt sollen daher die Systemzusammenhänge und die Systemveränderungen in den Hochlagen der Alpen in Folge der deutlich sichtbaren  Veränderungen im glazialen System aus den Perspektiven verschiedener Fachdisziplinen erforscht werden. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse dienen auch der Verbesserung des Schutzes der Menschen vor Naturgefahren.

    An dem Projekt arbeiten außer Geographen auch Ingenieurgeologen, Glaziologen, Geodäten und Geophysiker mit. Neben der federführenden Katholischen Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt sind in Deutschland die Universitäten in Halle, Erlangen und München (TUM) sowie in Österreich die Universitäten Innsbruck und Wien (Techn. Univ.) in unterschiedlichen Teilprojekten beteiligt.


    Die Arbeiten an dem Projekt mit einer angestrebten Laufzeit von 4 Jahren wurden im Winter 2011/12 aufgenommen.

    Auf diesen Seiten finden Sie eine Zusammenfassung der Teilprojekte und aktuelle Informationen.

  • Aktuelles

    • Neue Videos von Felsstürzen an der Schwarzen Wand (1 - 14.6MB, 2 - 20.2 MB) und Zeitraffer der Gletscherbewegung nahe dem Gletscherbruch (87.4 MB) und an der Gletscherzunge (103.5 MB):
      Klicken Sie HIER.
    • Januar 2014: PROSA geht weiter ! Nachdem DFG und FWF die Fortsetzungsanträge bewilligt haben, werden die Forschungsarbeiten nun (mindestens) bis Ende 2015 weiterlaufen können. Die nächsten ALS-Befliegungen sind schon in Vorbereitung, daneben laufen Datenauswertung und erste Modellrechnungen auf Hochtouren. Im Gelände werden im Spätwinter/Frühjarh Lawinen aufgenommen und Schneemessungen zur Permafrostbeurteilung durchgeführt.
    • 07. Juni 2013: Die Wetterkapriolen der letzten Tage und Wochen machen sich in einer gesteigerten Aktivität verschiedener geomorphologischer Prozesse im Untersuchungsgebiet bemerkbar. Die Arbeitsgruppe Halle beobachtete beispielsweise Muren auf den eingeschneiten Ufermoränen des Gepatschferners. => Video