you are here:  Faculties  History and Social Sciences  Political Science  Political Theory  Team


Prof. Dr. Dr. Manfred Brocker

  • 2014–2016: Fellow at Collegium Helveticum, University of Basel

  • 2012–present: Co-editor of the journal Zeitschrift für Politik

  • 2012–2014: Vice president for research at the KU

  • September 2010: Visiting lecturer at Orient-Institut Beirut

  • Winter semester 2009/10: Visiting fellow, Princeton University, NJ, USA

  • 2005–present: Chair of Political Science II: Political Theory and Philosophy at the KU (2007–2015: concurrently a professor at the Bavarian School of Public Policy)

  • 2003–2004: Temporary Chair of Political Theory and Philosophy at the Geschwister Scholl Institute, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

  • 2003: Temporary Chair of Political Science III (Political Theory) at the University of Mannheim

  • 2002–2003: Fellow at the Hannover Institute for Philosophical Research

  • 2002: Habilitation in political science (University of Cologne)

  • 1997/1998: Visiting fellow at the Department of Political Science at Yale University, New Haven, USA

  • 1994–2002: Research associate at the Institute of Political Science at the University of Cologne (Chair of Comparative Government and Political Theory)

  • 1993: Doctoral degree (Dr. rer. pol.) in political science (distinction: summa cum laude)

  • 1991: Doctoral thesis prize from the University of Cologne (for the thesis ‘Work and Property’)

  • 1990: Doctoral degree (Dr. phil.) in philosophy (distinction: summa cum laude)

  • 1986–1990: Doctoral study in political philosophy and political theory in Oxford (1988/1989) and Cologne

  • 1982–1984, 1989–1992: Studied economics, political science, and sociology at the University of Cologne (Dipl. Volkswirt; 1992)

  • 1979–1986: Studied philosophy, German philology, and Spanish philology at RWTH Aachen and the University of Cologne (Magister Artium; 1986) 


Additional activities and roles:

  • Interviews and background analysis for various broadcasters (such as ORF, Deutschlandfunk, Deutsche Welle, Dom-Radio Köln, Südwestrundfunk, Bayerischer Rundfunk, Radio Bremen, Westdeutscher Rundfunk, and Hessischer Rundfunk) and newspapers (such as Wiener Zeitung; Rheinischer Merkur, and Tagesspiegel)

  • Co-founder and speaker of the German Political Science Association’s politics and religion group (2000–2006)

  • Co-founder and member of the board of the Bavarian Center for Political Theory and its doctoral program in political theory

  • Recipient of grants and funding from the German Research Foundation (1998, 1999, 2000, 2004/2005, 2009, 2010, 2011), the Fritz Thyssen Foundation (2008), the German Marshall Fund of the United States (1997–1998), the John F. Kennedy Institute at FU Berlin (1997), the Dr. Meyer Struckmann Foundation (1991–1994), the German Academic Scholarship Foundation (1987–1990), the German Academic Exchange Service (1987, 1988), and the graduate scholarship fund of the state of North Rhine Westphalia (1987)

  • Recipient of funding to cover publication costs from the German Research Foundation (2004), Freunde und Förderer der Universität zu Köln e. V. (1997), and the Geschwister Boehringer Ingelheim Foundation for the Humanities (1992, 1995, 1997, 2001)